Where do you go to get your cannabis? Do you have a favorite dispensary in town, or do you buy from an online retailer?
If you live in Oklahoma, there’s a good chance you’ve passed by a dispensary at some point. If you want to get cannabis products, however, there are a few things you need to keep in mind.
The recreational sale and use of cannabis are still illegal in the state. There are also Oklahoma cannabis laws 2021 updates that may affect your cannabis experience. There are also updates to cannabis laws as of the new year as well.
Here are the legal aspects to keep in mind before going to your local dispensary.
Marijuana Laws in Oklahoma
The sale and possession of recreational marijuana are illegal in Oklahoma. The only way to sell and use it is through a medical license.
The recreational sale of cannabis is a felony punishable by up to twenty years in prison. The sentence is determined by the amount sold, the location of the sale, and the seller’s criminal history. The sentence can also be accompanied by a fine of $5,000.
A subsequent charge will result in a double penalty.
Possession is a misdemeanor charge that carries a one-year prison sentence or a fine of $10,000. A subsequent offense carries a felony charge with a sentence of two to ten years in jail. There is also a fine that is not to exceed $25,000.
Possession within 1,000 ft of a school or in the presence of a child will result in double penalties. Subsequent charges will result in triple penalties.
A trafficking charge will result if someone is caught with 25-1000 lbs in their possession. This will also result in a fine between $25,000-$100,000.
An amount over 1,000 lbs is a $100,000-$500,000 fine.
Oklahoma Cannabis Laws 2021 Updates
As the medical marijuana industry expands in Oklahoma, so do the state’s laws regarding cannabis use. The changes enacted in 2021 make regulations stricter in regards to selling and using cannabis.
The Oklahoma Medical Marijuana Authority (OMMA) began a seed-to-sale monitoring system. This system tracks each cannabis plant from the grower to the point of sale.
OMMA has also put a quality assurance program in place to ensure that all cannabis sold meets the state’s standards.
House Bill 2772 passed in the Oklahoma House of Representatives and requires a vote in the Senate. The bill intends to put a cap on the number of commercial licenses that OMMA can distribute. This bill intends to combat organized crime from dominating the state’s cannabis industry.
These updates do not have much effect on the average Oklahoman. However, talks began in the House to legalize cannabis through a state-wide referendum. The bill in question, HB 1961, was still being discussed in committee by year’s end.
How to Get a Medical Marijuana Patient License
The only way to buy and use cannabis is by obtaining a medical marijuana patient license. To obtain one, you have to be eighteen or older and a resident of the state to apply. The application also needs to include written documentation by an Oklahoma board-certified physician expressing their approval.
All applications will be considered and approved or denied within fourteen days.
In some cases, people younger than the age of eighteen and non-residents can obtain a license. For people younger than the age of eighteen, two Oklahoma board-certified positions need to express their approval. A parent or legal guardian will also need to give their consent.
The parent or legal guardian must be the ones to pick up medical marijuana from a dispensary for minors.
Non-residents can obtain a 30-day patient license if they have a medical marijuana card from another state.
If you wish to get a medical marijuana patient license, Med Pharm is one of the places you can get one. Check it out to learn more about the process to obtain your card.
Further Details on Oklahoma’s Marijuana Laws
State Question 788 further compounded Oklahoma’s marijuana laws. The stringent nature of the laws, as well as the complex distinctions on marijuana legality, has led to frequent meetings between police and state lawmakers.
State Question 788 makes the charges for misdemeanor drug possession less serious. If police find 1.5 oz or less of medical marijuana on someone without a state license, they will have to pay a fine not exceeding $400. There is also no jail time.
People with prior marijuana convictions may even have a chance to file an appeal to have their previous convictions reflect the new law on misdemeanor possession.
People that can use medical marijuana are also limited to certain products. The state’s laws are meant to be CBD-specific. People with a license can use medical marijuana as long as the products they use do not contain more than 3/10 of a single percent of THC.
Medical Marijuana Possession Limits
Even if you have a patient license, you still need to be careful about how much cannabis is in your possession. There are limits to how much a person may have, depending on its form.
Cardholders can have up to three ounces on their person, but up to eight in their residence. Only six fully-grown plants or seedlings are allowed in a residence. If you want to use concentrates, you are only allowed to have up to one ounce.
For edibles, people can have up to 72 oz in their possession.
For All Your Cannabis Needs
The Oklahoma Cannabis Laws 2021 additions made the laws around medical marijuana more stringent. The most important thing to keep in mind is that you need a patient card to purchase cannabis products. It’s also important to keep in mind how much you have since there are limits on the amount cardholders may carry.
If you enjoy the benefits of cannabis, we invite you to browse our site. We have a wide array of resources to help you learn more about the products you enjoy. We also have a guide to help you learn more about its health benefits and holistic approaches.
If you like what you see, subscribe to our site to always stay up-to-date.